Community Index interview

I have an interview about the markets in this month’s Chorlton Community Index – online version here: http://t.co/ywstGPl1hi

Tell us about yourself, outside of your work in the markets

I am a mother of one with a passion for country music, Fred Astaire and goats cheese.  I like to sew and paint whilst admiring my collection of vintage 80’s Care Bears.

What inspired you to start an Art Market in Chorlton?

As someone who has sold at hundreds of markets and craft fairs over the years, it was always my dream to run an event of my own – but one where the organisers actually cared about the traders.  I had sold at many events where it was clear that very little thought had been given to the people who were selling, and where businesses selling similar items had been allocated pitches side by side, and where the overall quality of the work varied hugely.  I wanted to create events where the traders were the priority because, after all, it wouldn’t be much of a market without good and happy traders.

After having a baby in 2011, I made the decision to give up my previous career in mental health and decided to focus on this vision.  My plan was to create a high quality art market – I realised that Chorlton is packed with loads of fantastic artists and designers and I wanted to facilitate an opportunity for them to sell their work.  There are a lot of talented people here, with great products and branding, and yet I know how hard it is to survive by just selling online.

Tell us about the upcoming community market

After a lot of hard work and two successful trial markets in Chorlton precinct last year, Chorlton Art Market, has now moved to its lovely new home at The Post Box Café.  This has made the organising and the running of the market a lot smoother and a much more enjoyable experience than it was last year!

This has now led to plans for another new market, The Chorlton Community Market which we hope will be a great opportunity for local charities/organisations to raise awareness/support for their causes.  We would also like small online businesses to use the market to provide a ‘face’ for their customers.

How’s it been going?

There is so much planning to be done!  I have sent so many emails over the past couple of weeks, but it all seems to be paying off finally.  Things are looking good.

You’re an artist yourself, tell us about your own art/stall

My brand is Patchwork Papillon and I make personalised Scrabble pictures, as well as patchwork quilts and bags.  Although I have been making things for many years, it is my lovely daughter who gives me my inspiration now.

What are your plans for the future?

We are now planning some exciting themed events for the Art Market throughout the year, with Textile special and a ‘Home & Garden’ market coming up soon.  You can read more about the history of the market, along with updates on our Kickstarter project here:https://chorltonartmarket.wordpress.com/.You will also find a full line up of our stall holders each month on our Facebook page.  Please email Alice at: chorltonartmarket@gmail.com if you would like to find out more about becoming a trader with us.

Leave a Reply

