In the words of Tenacious D: ‘thats f***ing teamwork’

I considered beginning this post with a grandiose/pretentious quote, maybe something about overcoming obstacles and rising above the madness that life throws at us all. But I won’t, because that is not really what I want to write about.

Trying to do what I am doing has made me learn many things. Above all else I have finally accepted that, in my experience, I should always trust my gut instinct in every decision I ever make – when I look back upon my life, I realise that my gut instinct has always been right. Difficult times of late have made this very clear to me.

One of the other main things I have come to properly realise is the absolute crucial importance of operating as part of a team. Obviously this is something I already understand since everything in life is teamwork to some degree, and I have of course written the immortal: ‘I can work well on my own,as well as part of a team’ on many a job application. But in terms of setting up the Chorlton Art Market as my business, I was, until recently, under the impression that I could do it all on my own. Other than sleeping and sewing, doing things on your own is hard.

As I have alluded to, I took a bit of a knock in recent weeks with my dreams for the market. Against my better judgement, I put my trust in someone I shouldn’t of. And it made me sad. It also made me very cross. But it also led onto much greater things and reminded me how strongly I feel about my goals and plans.

The old cliche ‘everything happens for a reason’ is so true. This I have always known but sometimes it’s easy to forget. Without the rough times I’ve had with the Chorlton Art Market lately, I may not of taken up a great opportunity which lead to a truly awesome event on Sunday. Along with some other folks, (the Uprising Bakehouse Co-operative and Miss Daisy’s Tea Den) I helped to create a Harvest Fayre in our local park – pictures of the wonderful day can be viewed here: https://www.facebook.com/chorltonartmarket/photos_stream and at: https://twitter.com/ChorltonMarkets/media. The success of the event was down to lots of hard work all round, but it was so worth it and it was so lovely seeing some of the CAM artists again, as well as some new folks. I have never enjoyed an event that I was involved in so much – I didn’t want the day to end. Massive respect to the Uprising team for masterminding such an ace day for our town and I’m so glad we could be a part of it.

So, in summary, I’m glad that things have happened the way they have. Every knock I take makes me more determined to reach my goals. As Babe Ruth said: ‘no one can beat you if you never give up’.

We are now busily and excitedly working on plans for future CAM events so watch this space!</

Leave a Reply

