Loving my Nemesis

”Hello, my name is Alice and I hate Facebook and Twitter and all that social media stuff”.

Up until very recently, this was how I usually introduced myself to new people.  Or at least within the first five minutes  I would find a way to mention my dislike for all things social media.  I only reluctantly joined Facebook 3 years ago when I became self employed and I always saw it as a bit of an addictive annoyance. Sometimes I had to just ignore it completely for weeks on end just to maintain my sanity.  Twitter and Instagram followed soon after and suddenly I was part of a world that I had blissfully resisted for years.

I could go on about the things that annoy me about social media, but I won’t.  I have done that enough.  And anyway, I think I’ve had a bit of an awakening.

I know its obvious to anyone who doesn’t class themselves as a wannabe Luddite, but its taken me all this time to properly realise that social media is not the enemy, and can if fact be a very useful, if not essential, advertising tool.

This realisation had already started to reveal itself when I was pointed in the direction of a great little blog which gave me much clarity on the whole subject.  It relates brilliantly to our shop and it gave me the drive to keep pushing on with maintaining our social media for the CAMhub.  http://www.onmysideoftheroom.com/getting-started/how-to-support-small-businesses-without-buying-a-thing/

So, I am pleased to say that there will now be a much more consistent social media presence, especially as we are now clearly seeing the effect it is having (barely a day goes by without a customer telling us they have seen an item on Facebook/Twitter/Instagram when buying it).  We see doing it now simply as part of our normal daily routine, rather than a bothersome chore.  And really, since I am getting to take photos of beautiful things and share them with people, it’s really not much of a hardship after all.  Definitely better than gutting fish, as my old college tutor used to say.

Two bits of exciting news – now that I am a fully paid up member of the techie revolution, I am now proud to announce that we have a shiny new website.  Thanks to the computer wizardry of Mark Wallis Design for giving up so much of his time to create this thing of beauty.  We’ll keep it updated with new photos so keep checking back – http://www.chorltonartmarket.com.

Also, from next week I’ll be handing this blog over to the CAMhub traders so they can tell you about themselves and their work.  Keep an eye out each week to find out what inspires and motivates our artists and vintage traders, and what pitfalls they have come across and the lessons they have learned.  We’ve got such a fantastic variety of collections in the shop so it’s going to be really fun to learn more about it all.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

